Home » Berea, Columbia to be named Kentucky Trail Towns

Berea, Columbia to be named Kentucky Trail Towns

Ceremonies planned for Tuesday

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 6, 2015) — Berea and Columbia will be officially named Kentucky Trail Towns on Tuesday. A ceremony will be held at 9:30 a.m. in Berea at the Berea Welcome Center Trailhead and at noon at the Cooperative Extension Office in Columbia.

The Kentucky Trail Town Program is designed to help connect communities to trail systems and develop them as tourist destinations. It will guide travelers to trails, food, lodging, campgrounds, museums, entertainment and other services. The designation will help communities improve their tourism economy, add more jobs and create more tourism opportunities for the entire state.

More than 30 communities have started the application process to become a Kentucky Trail Town and are working with the Office of Adventure Tourism in the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet.

There are currently 10 Kentucky Trail Towns: Royalton, Dawson Springs, Livingston, Morehead, Olive Hill, London, Stearns, Elkhorn City, Jamestown and Manchester.

Popular Stories