Home » VIDEO: Franklin-Simpson students win Keep Kentucky Kids Safe PSA contest

VIDEO: Franklin-Simpson students win Keep Kentucky Kids Safe PSA contest

Part of Attorney General’s drug awareness program

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 30, 2015) — Franklin-Simpson High School students Ben Byrum and Zach Tant are the winners of the 2015 Keep Kentucky Kids Safe public service announcement (PSA) contest, Attorney General Jack Conway announced today.

The annual competition for high school students is part of Conway’s statewide prescription drug abuse awareness and prevention initiative. Byrum and Tant will receive $250 per in Amazon gift cards, compliments of the National Association of Drug Diversion Investigators (NADDI).

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School students Rest Aliu, Praise Aliu, Tatyonna Williams, Lori Martinez, Riley Brown and Haley Hall finished second. Team members win a $100 Amazon.com gift card donated by the Kentucky Pharmacists Association.

“I want to congratulate this year’s winners and thank all of the students who participated in our PSA contest,” Conway said. “These students share our concern about a problem that is devastating families across Kentucky. Curbing the cycle of addiction in our commonwealth is an issue I am passionate about, and I appreciate the support of our school leaders who encourage their students to participate in our PSA contest each year and help share our Keep Kentucky Kids Safe message. By educating our kids about the dangers of misusing prescription drugs, we can help stop drug abuse before it starts and save future generations from the crippling effects of addiction.”

The winning PSAs are posted on the Attorney General’s website at ag.ky.gov/rxabuse. The first-place video will also be included with anti-drug PSAs that the Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy distributes to television stations across Kentucky.