Home » Commissioner of Education names task force to study school self-evaluation program

Commissioner of Education names task force to study school self-evaluation program

State-required Program Reviews have been a cause of concern

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Dec. 3, 2015) — Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt today named a task force to study Program Reviews and consider solutions to address challenges related to the Program Review process.

educationA Program Review is a school self-evaluation of a specific instructional program, such as arts and humanities or writing that is designed to result in program improvement. Program Reviews are required as a part of the assessment and accountability system under KRS 158.6453(1)(i) and currently count for 23 percent of a school’s and district’s overall accountability score.

Program Reviews were designed to improve the quality of programs, encourage the integration of the program skills schoolwide across all content areas, ensure equal access to learning opportunities for all students, and allow students to demonstrate understanding beyond a paper-and-pencil test.

“In the short time I’ve been in Kentucky, one of the things I’ve heard about repeatedly has been concern over Program Reviews,” Pruitt said. “This task force brings shareholders to the table as a first step in addressing those concerns and making Program Reviews a more effective tool that will benefit the children in our classrooms.”

The first meeting of the Commissioner’s Program Review Task Force will be Dec. 10 in Frankfort.

Commissioner’s Program Review Task Force:

  • Rob Akers, principal, Woodford Co. High School, Woodford Co. school district
  • Jay Brewer, superintendent, Dayton Independent school district
  • Karen Byrd, Boone Co. Board of Education, who represents the Kentucky School Boards Association
  • Angela Cain, chief deputy of quality, Lincoln Co. Board of Education
  • Ron Chi, superintendent intern, Boone Co. school district
  • Wes Cornett, principal of Somerset High School, Somerset Independent school district, who represents the Kentucky Association of School Administrators
  • Terrilyn Fleming, theatre director at Central High School Magnet Career Center, Jefferson Co. school district, who represents the Jefferson County Teachers Association
  • Jerry Green, superintendent, Pikeville Independent school district
  • Diane Hatchett, superintendent intern, Daviess Co. school district
  • Terry Hayes, superintendent, McLean Co. school district
  • Mark Kopp, associate superintendent for instructional services, Hardin Co. school district
  • Dot Perkins, chief executive officer, Central Kentucky Educational Cooperative
  • Amy Razor, executive director, Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Education Services
  • Adam Spinks, world language teacher, Warren Co. school district, who represents the Kentucky Education Association
  • Beth Sumner, assistant superintendent of instruction, Trigg County school district
  • Henry Webb, superintendent, Floyd Co. school district, who represents the Kentucky Association of School Superintendents