Home » 2016 Inductees into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Announced

2016 Inductees into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Announced

hall-of-fame-logo-2016-small-700x300Lexington, Ky. – The Carnegie Center has announced the five inductees into the 2016 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame, including the second living author to join the esteemed Hall: Bobbie Ann Mason.

“Bobbie Ann has been one of Kentucky’s premier writers for more than 40 years,” said Neil Chethik, Executive Director of the Carnegie Center. “She’s a pioneer in short-story writing and a true literary artist. We are thrilled to be honoring her.”

The five winners (listed below alphabetically) will be publicly announced and honored at the 2016 Induction Ceremony slated for Thursday, Jan. 28, at 7 p.m. Doors will open at 6:30 for the event, which is free to the public. Light refreshments and sweets will be provided. The Carnegie Center will also have a special musical performance from Ritchie’s Nieces, a group comprised of 2016 inductee Jean Ritchie’s actual nieces.

2016 Deceased Inductees:

  • James Lane Allen
  • Harlan Hubbard
  • Alice Hegan Rice
  • Jean Ritchie

Living Inductee:

  • Bobbie Ann Mason

Selection to the Hall of Fame involved a 3-step process: 1) nominations from the general public; 2) recommendations from a committee chaired by Lori Meadows, director of the Kentucky Arts Council, and including former state poets laureate, novelists, bookstore owners, a publisher and the state librarian; and 3) final selection by the Carnegie Center’s Hall of Fame Creation Committee.

For a writer to have been eligible this year he/she must be 1) published; 2) someone whose writing is of enduring stature; and 3) someone connected in a significant way to the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Following Wendell Berry’s induction last year as the Hall’s first living writer, nominations were opened again for one living author to be included in the 2016 class.