Home » Louisville Metro Council elects new president

Louisville Metro Council elects new president

Other positions also elected

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Jan. 8, 2016) — David Yates was elected president of the Louisville Metro Council for 2016 on Thursday by a vote of 17 to 9.

David Yates
David Yates

Members of the Democratic Caucus elected Councilman Bill Hollander (D-9) to serve as Majority Leader and Caucus Chair for 2015 and Councilwoman Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) to serve as Vice-Chair.

Republican members unanimously re-elected Kevin Kramer (D-11) to Caucus Chair and unanimously re-elected Councilwoman Marilyn Parker (District 18) as Caucus Vice-Chair. Kramer will serve his fifth year as Chair of the Caucus and Parker her second year as vice-chair.

Stephen Ott was unanimously reelected as the Metro Council Clerk for 2016. He has served as Metro Council Clerk since 2013.

“Colleagues, it is my distinct honor and privilege to accept your vote for Metro Council president,” Yates said. “I see tonight a very diverse group of public servants each representing a special part of our city. Each chair represents the faces of thousands of citizens depending on you to help move Metro Louisville forward. As president, it will be my mission to help each and every one of you accomplish that goal.”

Yates has indicated a desire to address concerns over Boards and Commissions, the Affordable Housing Trust Fund and moving forward with Google Fiber.

“I thank you for your support. I look forward to working closely with each of you this year, building on the progress we have already made and continuing to build a stronger legislative body to be the voice for our citizens,” said Yates.