Home » 2015 Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest winners announced

2015 Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest winners announced

Winners received $100 gift cards

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Feb. 1, 2016) — Students from Metcalfe County High School, Williamstown Independent Schools and Rockfield and Stinnett elementary schools took first place in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2015 Adopt-a-Highway Art Contest.

transportationWinner in each of the four age divisions received a $100 gift card. Second and third-place finishers received a $50 gift card. First through third-place recipients received framed prints of their posters, while the originals are framed and displayed for one year at the Transportation Cabinet’s Conference Center in Frankfort. Awards were presented at a luncheon at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort on Jan. 28.

“The purpose of the contest is to increase public awareness about the damaging effects of litter,” said acting Transportation Secretary Mike Hancock. “We use the vibrant artwork our contest winners produce to educate Kentuckians about our Adopt-a-Highway program and change attitudes and behaviors about littering.”


5-8 age category

  • First-place: Mady Coleman, Stinnett Elementary, Leslie County
  • Second-place: Kennedy Walden, Joe Harrison Carter Elementary, Monroe County
  • Third-place: Alyssa Hendrickson, Mountain View Elementary, Leslie County

9-11 age category

  • First-place: Hayli Hundley, Rockfield Elementary, Warren County
  • Second-place: Sumea Alic, Lost River Elementary, Warren County
  • Third-place: Mollyemma Edington, Ashland Elementary, Fayette County
  • Third-place: Zoe Jensen, Keavy Elementary, Laurel County

12-14 age category

  • First-place: Madeline Whaley, Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County
  • Second-place: Emily Cornett, Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County
  • Third-place: Evelyn Adams, Metcalfe County Middle School, Metcalfe County

15-18 age category

  • First-place: Shawn Lu, Metcalfe County High School, Metcalfe County
  • Second-place: Nicole Giesbers, Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County
  • Third-place: Austin Maines, Williamstown Independent Schools, Grant County

The Transportation Cabinet’s (KYTC) Adopt-a-Highway program received 1,337 entries from students throughout the commonwealth. Calendars featuring the top three finishers in each age division will be provided to all the winners and their schools.

“With so many excellent posters this year and a tremendous number of entries submitted, it was really hard to judge,” Hancock said.  “We appreciate all the hard work and effort the students put into their posters. Every entry is a winner.”

Entries for the 2016 contest will be accepted from Sept. 1 to Oct. 15.