Home » Jessamine County to be accredited by Safe Communities America

Jessamine County to be accredited by Safe Communities America

Second county in state to receive designation

NICHOLASVILLE, Ky. (Feb. 4, 2016) — Jessamine County will be accredited on Thursday by the Safe Communities America program through the National Safety Council, becoming the second county in Kentucky—after Madison County—to receive such the designation.

safetyA program of the National Safety Council, Safe Communities America accreditation represents a unified commitment to making the local community a safer place to live, work and play. The Kentucky-based Safe Communities support program is housed at the Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center at the University of Kentucky College of Public Health. The goal of Safe Communities America is to grow and sustain a vibrant, engaged network of safe communities to reduce injuries and deaths at the community level.

Officials, including Jessamine County Judge-Executive David West, Nicholasville Mayor Pete Sutherland and Carrie Nie, director of Safe Communities America at the National Safety Council, will be on hand for a ceremony at 5 p.m. on Thursday at West Jessamine High School Auditorium, 2101 Wilmore Road, Nicholasville.