Home » Six Gatton Academy students named 2016 Presidential Scholar candidates

Six Gatton Academy students named 2016 Presidential Scholar candidates

Bowling Green, Ky. – Six Gatton Academy seniors learned recently they are candidates for the 2016 United States Presidential Scholars.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

The 2016 candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars from The Gatton Academy are:

  • Taylor Bowman, daughter of Jason and Shawna Bowman, from Montgomery County High School.
  • Linyue “Joy” Fan, daughter of Lei Chen and Xingang Fan, from South Warren High School.
  • Emily Keeter, daughter of Howard and Lisa Keeter, from Woodford County High School.
  • Luci Keller, daughter of David and Kelli Keller, from Christian County High School.
  • Malia Latimer, daughter of Kristy Latimer and Troy Smith, from Louisville Male High School.
  • Seth Marskberry, son of John Marskberry Jr. and Tracy McQueen, from Daviess County High School.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, appointed by President Obama, selects honored scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Each year, more than 4,000 candidates are identified for the component of the program that focuses on academic achievement and based on having scored exceptionally well on the SAT or the ACT. To be eligible to be a candidate, one must be a U.S. citizen or be a legal permanent resident of the U.S. , receive their high school diploma between January and August of the current program year,  and have taken the ACT or SAT assessment the previous October.

“Kentucky’s investment in the development of students’ talents is recognized when so many highly capable students are selected as candidates for this prestigious national program,” said Director of The Gatton Academy Dr. Lynette Breedlove. “These students represent our state well. They seek out opportunities to challenge themselves through research, study abroad, and challenging curriculum. They also look for important ways to contribute to their communities. We are very proud of the hard work these students do every day.”

From here, approximately 161 students will be recognized in May as Presidential Scholars. The majority of the Scholars will be selected on the basis of broad academic achievement. Approximately 20 students are selected on the basis of their academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, the performing arts or creative writing. And beginning in 2016, approximately 20 additional students will be selected on the basis of their ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Students selected as U.S. Presidential Scholars will be honored in Washington, D.C., in June. During this trip, U.S. Presidential Scholars are guests of the U.S. Department of Education and the Commission and enjoy an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to meet with government officials, educators and other accomplished people. To commemorate their achievement, the Scholars are awarded the Presidential Scholars Medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House.

For information, visit the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

About The Gatton Academy: Established in 2007, The Gatton Academy is Kentucky’s first residential high school for gifted and talented junior and seniors. The Gatton Academy’s students enroll as juniors and are full-time WKU students pursuing their interests in advanced science, technology, engineering and mathematical careers. The Gatton Academy has been named to the Washington Post’s list of top-performing schools with elite students for seven consecutive years and was named the number one public high school in the United States by The Daily Beast for three consecutive years – 2012, 2013 and 2014.