Home » Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training graduates 24 dispatchers

Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training graduates 24 dispatchers

Consisted of five weeks of training

RICHMOND, Ky. (Feb. 19, 2016) — Law enforcement dispatchers from communications centers across the state graduated today from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

Dispatch Class 104_5x7The 24 dispatchers comprised DOCJT’s 104th telecommunications academy class since its inception in 1999. The academy graduates’ five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

Dispatch personnel basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employees who are employed to dispatch law enforcement by means of radio communications on a full-time basis at a Criminal Justice Information Systems, or CJIS, agency.

Public Safety Dispatch Class No. 104 graduated six trainees of distinction. In order to be a trainee of distinction, students must have a GPA of 95 percent or above, no failures or retests and no disciplinary action above a verbal warning.

DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 104 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Samantha M. Adams, Fayette Co. Sheriff’s Office
  • Adam Bennett, Edmonton/Metcalfe Co. Dispatch
  • Blake J. Bishop, Cynthiana –Harrison Co. E-911
  • Ethan D. Blair,   Morehead State University P.D.
  • Brittani Nicole Blankenship, Madisonville P.D.
  • Bobbie Rae Brown, Union Co. 911
  • Megan Coker, Union Co. 911
  • Misti Drew, Marshall Co. E-911
  • Lisa Anne Farias, Pennyrile Emergency 911
  • Randy K. Gwin, Hazard P.D.
  • Robin Ann Hamm, Casey Co. 911
  • Brittany D. Hendricks, Madisonville P.D.
  • Sarah Lynne Keidel, Breckinridge Co. Sheriff’s Office
  • Lisbeth L. Mares, Madisonville P.D.
  • J. Montgomery, Hazard P.D.
  • Stevie Newby, Pennyrile Emergency 911
  • Kenneth B. Pagano, Jefferson Co. Sheriff’s Office
  • Victoria C. Reams, London/Laurel Co. 911
  • Lillian G. Ruiz-Jimenez, Radcliff P.D.
  • Austin Jordan Scherer, Jefferson Co. Sheriff’s Office
  • Chandler Sirls, Marshall Co. E-911
  • Quinton Smoot, Maysville P.D.
  • Tabitha L. Tran, Edmonton/Metcalfe Co. Dispatch
  • Amanda C. Webster, Carrollton P.D.