Home » Gov. Bevin makes appointments to Kentucky Horse Park and other boards

Gov. Bevin makes appointments to Kentucky Horse Park and other boards

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 4, 2016) – Governor Matt Bevin has made the following appointments to Kentucky boards and commissions:

Dr. Tad Seifert has been reappointed to the Boxing and Wrestling Authority.

  • Dr. Tad Seifert, of Louisville, will serve a term expiring Jan. 4, 2020. Dr. Seifert is a neurologist with Norton Healthcare.

The Kentucky Boxing and Wrestling Authority oversees all professional boxing, wrestling and full contact competitive bouts and exhibitions held in Kentucky. It licenses contestants, officials and promoters. The authority is attached to the Public Protection Cabinet for administrative purposes.

Robert Foree has been appointed to the Agriculture Development Board.

  • Robert Foree, of Eminence, replaces Roy G. Collins, who has resigned. Mr. Foree, a self-employed farmer and attorney, will serve the remainder of the unexpired term expiring July 6, 2018.

The KY Agricultural Development Board distributes fifty percent of the states monies received from the Masters Settlement Agreement for the general purpose of agricultural development within the Commonwealth. The Board invests these funds into innovative proposals to increase net farm income and effect tobacco farmers, tobacco-impacted communities and agriculture across the state by stimulating markets for Kentucky agricultural products, finding new ways to add value to Kentucky agricultural products and exploring new opportunities for Kentucky farms.

Rebecca Jordan, Matt Dedden and Tandy Patrick have been appointed to the Kentucky Horse Park Commission.

  • Rebecca Jordan, of Georgetown, replaces Luther Deaton, whose term has expired. Mrs. Jordan, an insurance agent with State Farm Insurance, will serve a term expiring Jan. 14, 2020.
  • Matt J. Dedden, of Burlington, replaces W.B. Rogers Beasley, whose term has expired. Mr. Dedden will serve a term expiring Jan. 14, 2020.
  • Tandy Patrick, of Louisville, replaces Alston Kerr and will serve as chair. Ms. Patrick is an attorney with Bingham, Greenebaum & Doll LLC in Louisville and Lexington. Her term expires Jan. 14, 2019.

The Kentucky Horse Park Commission is made up of 15 gubernatorial appointees. The Kentucky Horse Park Commission is charged with providing broad management expertise and direction in the operation of the Kentucky Horse Park as well as representing the diverse interests of the Kentucky horse industry.

Brian Crall and Brian Richmond have been appointed to the Personnel Board to serve terms expiring Jan. 1, 2020.

  • Brian Crall, of Nicholasville, will replace Wayne Doug Sapp, whose term has expired. Mr. Crall is a self-employed consultant.
  • Brian Richmond, of Ft. Mitchell, replaces William S. Sheckles, who has resigned. Mr. Richmond is a self-employed attorney.

The Kentucky Personnel Board promotes merit principles in government service and the improvement of personnel standards in the state service. The Kentucky Personnel Board hears the appeals of classified employees and other employees who believe they have been penalized without cause. The Kentucky Personnel Board has the authority to conduct investigations of merit system violations and to promulgate administrative regulations concerning the state personnel system.

Scott W. Brinkman has been appointed as a member of the Waterfront Development Corporation Board of Directors.

  • Scott W. Brinkman, of Louisville, represents the Governor’s Office, and shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Mr. Brinkman is Secretary of Gov. Bevin’s Executive Cabinet.

Melvin Smith, Neal Kimball, Doreen Carlson and Tom Emanuel have been appointed to the 12th Judicial Circuit and District Nominating Commission (Henry, Oldham and Trimble Counties)

  • Melvin Smith, of Bedford, replaces DeAnne Downey, whose term has expired. Mr. Smith, a self-employed farmer, will serve a term expiring Jan. 1, 2018.
  • Neal Kimball, of Crestwood, replaces Jack Purvis, of Crestwood, whose term has expired. Mr. Kimball, a practice manager with ULP Pediatrics, will serve a term expiring Jan. 1, 2018.
  • Doreen Carlson, of Goshen, replaces Dawn Muller, whose term has expired. Mrs. Carlson, a utilization review coder with Kindred Healthcare, will serve a term expiring Jan. 1, 2020.
  • Tom Emanuel, of Prospect, replaces Theodore L. Merhoff, whose term has expired. Mr. Emmanuel, owner of Taylor Enterprises of KY, Inc., will serve a term expiring Jan. 1, 2020.

The Commission is made up of seven members, including: the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, who serves as Chair; two members of the Kentucky Bar Association elected by their fellow members; and four members appointed by the Governor. The Governor’s appointees shall not be members of the Kentucky Bar Assoc. and shall include two members of each political party.

When a judicial vacancy occurs, the executive secretary of the Judicial Nominating Commission sends a notice of vacancy to all attorneys in the judicial circuit or the judicial district affected. Attorneys can recommend someone or nominate themselves. Once that occurs, the individuals interested in the position return a questionnaire to the Office of Chief Justice. The Chief Justice then meets with the Judicial Nominating Commission to choose three nominees. The names of the applicants are not released. However, once the Judicial Nominating Commission has determined the names of the three finalists to be sent to the governor for selection, the Judicial Branch makes the names available to the public and the media. The credentials of these three nominees are sent to the Governor for review. When the Governor appoints the replacement, his office makes the announcement.