Home » Nominations being accepted for historic preservation awards

Nominations being accepted for historic preservation awards

Deadline to nominate is April 15

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 14, 2016) — Nominations are being accepted for the 38th Annual Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation Historic Preservation Awards for the preservation and rehabilitation of historic buildings, archaeological resources and cultural sites.

Ida Lee Willis
Ida Lee Willis

Awards, which will be presented in May, recognize investment, advocacy, volunteerism, building partnerships, public involvement, lifelong commitment and significant achievement. Awards are sponsored by the Ida Lee Willis Memorial Foundation and the Kentucky Heritage Council/State Historic Preservation Office. The nomination deadline is April 15.

Awards consist of:

  • Preservation Project — awards honor outstanding examples of historic building rehabilitation and other projects that have furthered the preservation of Kentucky’s built environment.
  • Service to Preservation — awards recognize individuals, organizations, nonprofits, public officials, financial institutions, news media, volunteers and others whose contributions have had a positive impact in their communities.
  • Ida Lee Willis Memorial Award — goes to the individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication to the cause of historic preservation in the commonwealth.