Home » Governor makes appointments to Kentucky Horse Park Commission

Governor makes appointments to Kentucky Horse Park Commission

Reduces board from 17 to 15 members

kentucky_seal_resized2FRANKFORT, Ky. (May 24, 2016) — Gov. Matt Bevin had made appointments to the Kentucky Horse Park Commission, as well as reducing the board from 17 to 15 members.

Appointed to serve for a two-year term:

  • Tandy Patrick, of Louisville. Patrick is an attorney with Bingham, Greenebaum & Doll LLC in Louisville and Lexington. Patrick will continue to serve as the Kentucky Horse Park Chairwoman.
  • Nancy Cox, of Lexington. Cox is the Dean of the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • Larry Bisig, of Louisville. Bisig is CEO of Bisig Impact Group. Bisig was a founding member of the Greater Louisville Sports Commission and Louisville Arena Authority.
  • Porter Peeples, Sr., of Lexington. Peeples serves as President/CEO of the Lexington Urban League. Peeples is active in a variety of civic initiatives and programs throughout the Commonwealth.

Appointed to serve for a three-year term:

  • Bennie Sargent, of Georgetown. Sargent is a former AQHA Horseman-of-the-Year and a longtime member of the Quarter Horse Association.
  • Matt Dedden, of Burlington. Dedden is the former vice president of the Kentucky Cutting Horse Association, is the owner of Dedden Excavation based in Burlington, Kentucky and wood product manufacturing company, Primary Pallet in Redding, Ohio. Dedden will serve as the Kentucky Horse Park Vice Chairman.
  • Rebecca “Becky” Jordan, of Georgetown. Jordan has served on the Horse Park Foundation Board for over 20 years, has been a member of the National Reining Horse Sports Foundation since 2010, and previously served on the World Games Advisory Commission from 2006-2010.
  • Lisa Ball, of Lexington. Ball is the sales and marketing executive of Ball Homes. Ball is the secretary of the Homebuilders Association of Lexington, and a member of the Affordable Housing Board of Lexington.

Appointed to serve for a four-year term:

  • William “Bill” Ferko, of Prospect. Ferko is Interim Chief Financial Officer of CRS Processing Services and owner of Turning Leaf Farm. Ferko is the chairman of Dismas Charities.
  • Paul Feemster, of Smithfield. Feemster is the retired Vice President and General Manager of United States Fidelity and Guaranty and an active Sport Horse breeder.
  • Richard “Happy” Broadbent IV, of Lexington. Broadbent is Vice President of Churchill Downs, Incorporated. Broadbent is the past president of the Thoroughbred Club of America.

Ex-officio members:

  • Don Parkinson, Secretary of the Cabinet of Tourism, Arts and Heritage.
  • Eric Dunnigan, Secretary of the Cabinet of Economic Development.