Home » DOCJT graduates 23 telecommunicators from Public Safety Dispatch Academy

DOCJT graduates 23 telecommunicators from Public Safety Dispatch Academy

Completed five weeks of training

RICHMOND, Ky. (May 27, 2016) — Twenty-three law enforcement dispatchers graduated today from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

Dispatch Class 106_5x7The graduates hail from communications centers across the state and comprise DOCJT’s 106th telecommunications academy class, which first began in 1999.

The five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

Dispatch basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employee who will dispatch law enforcement officers by radio at a Criminal Justice Information Systems agency.

Public Safety Dispatch Class No. 106 graduated seven trainees of distinction. To receive the honor, students must have a GPA of 95 percent or above, no failures or retests and no disciplinary action above a verbal warning.

DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 106** graduates and their agencies are:

  • Chance Anthony, Breckinridge County Sheriff’s Office
  • *Matthew D. Baker, Georgetown/Scott County 911
  • Corey D. Byrd, Monticello/Wayne County E-911
  • *Elizabeth Carr, Kenton County Emergency Communications Center
  • Kyle Franklin Cook, Montgomery County 911
  • William E. Crafton, Carlisle County E-911
  • *Michael E. F. Daigle, Bluegrass Airport Police Department
  • Morgan Graham, Todd County Dispatch Center
  • *Michael L. Henderson, Lexington E-911
  • Ronda G. Hoskins, Danville 911 Communications Center
  • Toni D. Humphress, Adair County 911
Chasity Murt, Paducah/McCracken County 911
  • Vanessa P. Noble, Campbell County Dispatch Center
  • Joshua W. Parsons, London/Laurel County E-911
  • Kyle Patrick Peters, Bluegrass 911 Central Communications Center
  • Miranda Leigh Phillips, Bullitt County E-911
  • Megan Sangalli, Georgetown/Scott County 911
  • Dylan M. Slaughter, Bullitt County E-911
  • Tonya L. Smith, Boyd County PSCC 911
  • Matthew E. Sparks, Danville 911 Communications Center
  • *Skylar B. Taylor, Corbin Police Department
  • *Timmy Wampler, London/Laurel County E-911
  • *Gina S. Yoon, Northern Kentucky University Police Department

*Denotes Trainees of Distinction