Home » Lexington launches Mayor’s International Affairs Advisory Council

Lexington launches Mayor’s International Affairs Advisory Council

Consists of 23 members

LEXINGTON, Ky. (June 9, 2016) — Lexington Mayor Jim Gray and the Urban County Council have authorized a 23-member commission to serve as the Mayor’s International Affairs Advisory Council. The commission will provide information and advice about issues affecting Lexington’s immigrants, refugees, trade partners, business investors, international students and visitors as well as on pertinent international matters that affect the community-at-large.

“The International Affairs Advisory Commission is looking forward to supporting the needs of our diverse community,” said commission chairman Nkongolo Kalala. “With more than 50,000 foreign-born residents in Lexington, the commission will be tasked with providing international affairs expertise, promoting cultural understanding, fostering international community relationships and assessing the accessibility and effectiveness of local services.”

In addition to advising the mayor and council, the commission supports Global Lex, the city’s new multilingual global engagement center. Global Lex encourages civic engagement, facilitates strategic partnerships, creates a data bank on international professionals and provides essential services including targeted English classes and tutoring in citizenship, American culture, driver’s education and other public safety classes. The center also provides outreach to the international communities, offers opportunities for interns and volunteers, and communicates the many cultural events occurring throughout the local community.

The commission meets quarterly throughout the year and meetings are open to the public. For a complete listing of meeting dates, visit www.lexingtonky.gov.

Commission members are:

  • Dr. Nkongolo Kalala, Chair
  • Dr. Christel Broady, Vice Chair
  • Isabel Gereda Taylor, Treasurer
  • Kevin Atkins
  • Ronnie Bastin
  • Amanda Mays Bledsoe
  • James Brown
  • David Carpenter
  • Amy Caudill
  • Marilyn Daniel
  • William Enright
  • Chris Ford
  • Sally Hamilton
  • Dr. Lachin Hatemi
  • Guion Johnstone
  • Elizabeth Leibach
  • Dr. Huajing Maske
  • Dr. Francis Musoni
  • Freddy Peralta
  • Diana Queen
  • Dr. Nadia Rasheed
  • Geoff Reed
  • Dianet Valencia