Home » DOCJT graduates 24 law officers from basic training

DOCJT graduates 24 law officers from basic training

Included 23 weeks of training

RICHMOND, Ky. (Sept. 2, 2016) — Twenty-four law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated from basic training Friday at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

Basic Photo 475 sitting_8x10The graduates of Class 475 completed 23 weeks of training, which consisted of 923 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 475 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Phillip C. Blevins, Williamstown Police Department
  • William Garth Bragg, Scottsville Police Department
  • Nicholas C. Capps, Bell County Sheriff’s Office
  • Sidney J. Cates, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Charles J. Clark, Glasgow Police Department
  • Cody J. Clinton, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Lucas A. DeBorde, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office
  • Joshua B. Durbin, Adair County Sheriff’s Office
  • Stephen C. Faulconer, Laurel County Sheriff’s Office
  • Joshua S. Greenwell, Nelson County Sheriff’s Office
  • Evan Franklin Head, Princeton Police Department
  • Chase Henderlight, Versailles Police Department
  • Derek Charles Hill, Henderson Police Department
  • George M. Johnson, Glasgow Police Department
  • Logan M. Jones, Henderson Police Department
  • Joshua L. Kennedy, Russellville Police Department
  • Brett R. Lockman, Dayton Police Department
  • Dean F. Lunz Jr., Henderson Police Department
  • Dennis I. Newton Jr., Leitchfield Police Department
  • Clayton M. Pinnegar, Princeton Police Department
  • Brandon S. Rafferty, Leitchfield Police Department
  • David W. Robertson, Edmonton Police Department
  • Abe J. Spicer, Erlanger Police Department
  • Jeremy S. Williams, Mayfield Police Department