Home » Nine semifinalists named for Kentucky Teacher of the Year awards

Nine semifinalists named for Kentucky Teacher of the Year awards

Winners will be announced Oct. 19

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Oct. 11, 2016) — Nine outstanding teachers from across the state—three elementary, three middle and three high school teachers—are semifinalists for the 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award. The overall winner will represent Kentucky in the 2017 National Teacher of the Year competition.

Winners of the elementary, middle and high school awards and the overall 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be announced at a ceremony at 10 a.m. on Oct. 19 in the Rotunda of the Capitol Building in Frankfort.

Elementary Teacher of the Year semifinalists:

  • Kim Delaney, Longbranch Elementary, Boone County
  • Kellie Jones, Taylor County Elementary, Taylor County
  • Jennifer C. O’Daniel, Olive Hill Elementary, Carter County

Middle School Teacher of the Year semifinalists:

  • Sarah Mills, Eastside Middle School, Bullitt County
  • Candida Murphy, Robert D. Campbell Junior High, Clark County
  • Brandi F. Smith, Madison Middle School, Madison County

High School Teacher of the Year semifinalists:

  • Tricia Shelton, Boone County High School, Boone County
  • Ron A. Skillern, Bowling Green High School, Bowling Green Independent
  • Cathy Conley, Knott County Central High School, Knott County

The nine semifinalists are among 24 educators who were named 2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award (TAA) winners. They were chosen based on their scores from the first round of judging, which was conducted by a blue ribbon panel of veteran educators. Applications included information on nominees’ teaching philosophies, teaching experiences, involvement in their respective communities and letters of recommendation.

Valvoline will present the 24 Teacher Achievement Award recipients with cash awards and certificates at the awards ceremony in Frankfort. In addition to cash awards, the three Kentucky Teachers of the Year also will receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments and all 24 educators will be honored at a special luncheon that day.

This marks the 16th year the Kentucky Department of Education and Ashland/Valvoline have partnered to honor Kentucky educators. Since 1988, approximately $776,500 has been awarded to 524 teachers in grades K to 12.