Home » University of Kentucky’s Outstanding Staff Awards announced

University of Kentucky’s Outstanding Staff Awards announced

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 9, 2016) — Sixty-One University of Kentucky staff members were honored during the 2016 Outstanding Staff Awards (OSA) recognition ceremony recently at the Woodford Reserve Room in Commonwealth Stadium. This was the seventh year for the event sponsored by the UK Staff Senate and the UK President’s Office.

More than 100 people were in attendance to honor the award winners, including UK President Eli Capilouto, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration Eric Monday, colleagues and other campus leaders.

“UK is defined by its people, and the Outstanding Staff Awards program illustrates the high-level commitment and exceptional talent our staff have to advance the mission of the University of Kentucky,” Capilouto said.

OSA winners were all referred by their respective work units as their most deserving employees of 2015-16.

“We were very happy this year to add the College of Medicine to the growing list of colleges and departments included in the ceremony,” said Jon Gent, the OSA program chair. “We are delighted that administrators see the value in engaging staff by recognizing their successes.”

The 61 OSA winners represented 20 colleges and administrative units, including the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment, College of Arts and Sciences, Gatton College of Business and Economics, College of Communication and Information, College of Dentistry, College of Education, College of Engineering, College of Health Sciences, College of Law, College of Medicine, College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, College of Public Health, Human Resources, Office of Philanthropy, Office of the Treasurer, Student Affairs, UK HealthCare, UK HealthCare IT, UK Libraries, and Undergraduate Studies.

2016 Outstanding Staff Award winners (photo) and their award titles are:

Center for Applied Energy Research
Alice Marksberry — Marybeth McAlister Memorial Outstanding Staff Award

College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
David Lowry — CAFE Outstanding Staff Award-Technical and Paraprofessional Category
Jackie Harper — CAFE Outstanding Staff Award-Service, Maintenance and Skilled Crafts Category
James Dollarhide — CAFE Outstanding Staff Awards-Technical and Paraprofessional Category
Kevin Veach — Outstanding Staff
Le Anne Herzog — CAFE Outstanding Staff Awards-Executive/Administrative Category
Louise Gladstone — CAFE Outstanding Staff Award-Administrative/Executive Category
Shirley Harris — CAFE Outstanding Staff Award-Clerical and Secretarial On-Campus Category
Sue Rice — CAFE Outstanding Staff Award-Clerical Secretarial, Off-Campus Category

Gatton College of Business and Economics
Matthew Cosgrove – Gatton College of Business & Economics Employee of the Year (Hourly Staff)
Shonta Phelps – Gatton College of Business & Economics Employee of the Year (Professional Staff)

College of Communication and Information
Heather Burke – Outstanding Staff Award
Megan Sizemore – Outstanding Staff Award

College of Dentistry
Chelsea Elam –  Employee of the Quarter – 1st Quarter 2016
Debra Grant  –  Employee of the Quarter – 4th Quarter 2015
Denise Marshall  –  Employee of the Quarter – 3rd Quarter 2015
Jill Townsend  – Employee of the Quarter – 2nd Quarter 2016

College of Education
Gary Schroeder  –  Outstanding Staff Award – Exempt
Gwen Winder  – Outstanding Staff Award – Non Exempt

College of Engineering
Kenny Blair  –  Staff Excellence Award (exempt category)
Richard Anderson  –  Staff Excellence Award (non-exempt category)

College of Fine Arts
Andrea Richardson  –  Outstanding Staff Award
Belinda Rubio  –  Outstanding Staff Award

College of Health Sciences
Doug Long  –  College of Health Sciences Employee of the Year Award

College of Law
Alison Begor  –  Outstanding Staff Award
Jeanie Powell  –  Outstanding Staff Award

College of Medicine
Beth Hartmann  –  Honorary Member of the College of Medicine 2016 Class
Jon Gent  –  Honorary Member of the College of Medicine 2016 Class
Julie McDaniel  –  Honorary Member of the College of Medicine 2016 Class

College of Nursing
Joanne Davis — Employee of the Year Award

College of Public Health
Tom Collins — College of Public Health Employee of the Year

Human Resources
Austin Dyer — HR ACE Award- Peer to Peer
Jennifer Peavler — HR ACE Award – Game Changer
Jennifer Wrather — HR Ace Award Raising the Bar
Josh Hamperian — HR Ace Award

Joshua Monroe — Dean’s Award for Outstanding Performance
Beth Reeder — Dean’s Award for Outstanding Performance
Kopana Terry — Dean’s Award for Outstanding Performance

Office of Philanthropy
Jennifer Combs — Front Line Award
Laura Sutton — Professional Achievement Award
Sarah Fitzgerald — Rising Achievement Award

Robinson Scholars
Neomia Hagans-Flores — Outstanding Staff Award

Student Affairs
Courtenay Lancaster — Outstanding Non-Exempt Professional
Diane Follingstad — Outstanding Faculty Partner
Grace Hahn — Outstanding Exempt New Professional

Alexis (LexI) Bugay — Henry Clay Owen Outstanding Employee of Year

UK HealthCare
Angela Dalton-Tibbetts — Supervisor of the Year
Ben Nicholls — Motivator Award
Brig Wakeland — Sixth Man
Carolyn Smiley — Nightingale Preceptor Lamp Award
Heather Murphy — Eastern State Foundation Award
Judy Garrett — Karen Sexton Firestarter Award
Kim Manning — AI Quilt of Teamwork Award for Nursing Support
Kristy McMillan — Supervisor of the Year
Lisa Thornsberry — Diana Weaver Leadership/Management Award
Margaret Durbin — NPA Award
Margie Summers — M.J. Dickson Quality Nursing Care Award
Mary Allen — Team Player
Tammy Lloyd — Servant Leader Award
Teresa Chase — Karen E. Hall Nursing Education Award
Veronica Fennelly — Dorothy Brockopp Annual Nursing Research Award