Home » Gov. Bevin reorganizes boards, creates Kentucky Real Estate Authority

Gov. Bevin reorganizes boards, creates Kentucky Real Estate Authority

Modifies four real estate boards

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Dec. 2, 2016) — Gov. Matt Bevin today issued an executive order altering the Office of Occupations and Professions to form the Department of Professional Licensing and establishing the Kentucky Real Estate Authority.

The order also modifies the structure of and reorganizes four state real estate boards: Real Estate Commission; Real Estate Appraisers Board; Board of Auctioneers; and Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors. The reorganization cuts the number of members for each board to three.

Kentucky Real Estate Authority will be comprised of five members, including one member each from the four reorganized boards and an executive director. The new structure gives the Kentucky Real Estate Authority authorization to approve regulatory changes from member boards and recommend those regulations to the department for promulgation.

The new boards will each be responsible for licensing individuals in their respective sectors and can also issue penalties for licensees. Under the terms of the executive order, individuals may appeal board decisions to the Commissioner of the Department of Professional Licensing, thus applying an additional level of scrutiny to board decisions.