Home » DOCJT graduates 25 telecommunicators from Public Safety Dispatch Academy

DOCJT graduates 25 telecommunicators from Public Safety Dispatch Academy


RICHMOND, Ky. (May 26, 2017) – Twenty-five law enforcement dispatchers graduated today from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. This class included three trainees of distinction.

The graduates hail from communications centers across the state, and comprise DOCJT’s 112th telecommunications academy class, which first began in 1999.

The five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

Dispatch basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employee who will dispatch law enforcement officers by radio at a Criminal Justice Information Systems agency.

DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 112*** graduates and their agencies are:
• Brandon Adams, Clay County 911
• Jennifer L. Addison, Oak Grove Police Department
• Elizabeth B. Blake, Todd County Dispatch
• Amy Brantley, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office
• Westley Brumley, Clay County 911
• **Danna Marie Burton, Adair County E-911
• Sharon M. Carlson, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office
• Rachel Collins, Warren County Sheriff’s Office
• Paula M. Conley, Magoffin County 911
• **Leila Consuela Creekmore, McCreary County E-911
• Jacob Ryan Dean, London/Laurel County 911
• Jericho Fitzback, Hardin County 911
• Kelsee George, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office
• *Rachel D. Hardesty, Boone County PSCC
• *Jeri Beth Higgins, Hopkinsville Police Department
• Laura J. Johnson, Oldham County Dispatch
• *Zachary V. Jones, Kenton County ECC
• Michael A. Klinglesmith, Radcliff Police Department
• Bryan A. Meredith, Grayson County E-911
• **Jason LaRue Mosley, Fayette County Public Schools DLE
• Matthew Mullins, Hazard Police Department
• Timothy M. Nichols, Lexington E-911
• Jimmy Perkins, Hazard Police Department
• James B. Smith, Blue Grass Airport Police Department
• Sherri E. Steedley, Menifee County 911