Home » DOCJT graduates 22 from sergeant’s academy

DOCJT graduates 22 from sergeant’s academy

122-hour training program

122-hour training program

RICHMOND, Ky. (June 23, 2017) — Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

ZAPS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 69th to complete APS since the program began in 2003.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

 APS Class 69 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Sgt. Daniel Fern, Northern Kentucky University Police Department
  • Sgt. Brittney Garrett, Jeffersontown Police Department
  • Sgt. Christopher Gatewood, Fayette County Schools, Department of Law Enforcement
  • Corp. Michael Geis, Florence Police Department
  • Sgt. Gary Helton, Kenton County Police Department
  • Sgt. Eric Houchins, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Sgt. Robert Howard, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
  • Sgt. Scott Hurley, Jeffersontown Police Department
  • Sgt. Justin Jones, Madisonville Police Department
  • Sgt. Andrew Kenner, Independence Police Department
  • Sgt. Omar Lee, Louisville Metro Police Department
  • Sgt. Richard Markesbery, Erlanger Police Department
  • Sgt. Jammie Moore, Kentucky Department of Parks, Ranger Division
  • Sgt. Anthony Morris, Mount Washington Police Department
  • Sgt. Joseph Payton, Georgetown Police Department
  • Sgt. Homer Pigman, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
  • Sgt. Brant Shutt, Murray Police Department
  • Sgt. Jeremy Smith, Louisville Metro Police Department
  • Detective Sgt. Jonathan Snow, Nelson County Sheriff’s Office
  • Sgt. Troy Turner, Paducah Police Department
  • Sgt. Dennis Wells, Nelson County Sheriff’s Office
  • Sgt. Michael Wells, Eminence Police Department