Home » Retired KET deputy executive director named chair of Prichard Committee

Retired KET deputy executive director named chair of Prichard Committee

Bill Wilson
Bill Wilson

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Jan. 9, 2018) – William H. Wilson, a former educational television executive and higher education leader, has been elected chair of the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence.

Wilson’s extensive background in education and communications includes service as deputy executive director for education and outreach for Kentucky Educational Television. After retiring from that position, the Lexington native was associate vice president for development and major gifts at Kentucky State University for five years.

Earlier in his career, Wilson was director of instructional television for the Cambridge Publishing Division of the New York Times and worked as a teacher and assistant principal at Lafayette High School in Lexington.

Active in local, state and national organizations, Wilson serves on the board of the United Way of the Bluegrass, the Lexington Housing Authority, the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Planning Commission, the Commonwealth Policy Institute for Education, the State Advisory Council for Libraries and Archives and the National Communication Advisory Board for the University of Kentucky.

He was elected chair of the Prichard Committee at a recent meeting of the statewide citizens advocacy organization that focuses on improving Kentucky schools.

Also elected as officers were Wynn L. Radford III as vice chair and Carol Lamm as secretary/treasurer. Radford, now retired, was president of Higgins Insurance & Benefits Inc., in Hopkinsville. Lamm, from Berea, is a retired CPA whose career was focused on Appalachian community development.