Home » Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus elects 2018 president

Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus elects 2018 president

Troy Beam
Troy Beam

Troy Beam, executive director of the Shepherdsville-Bullitt County Tourist Commission, has been elected 2018 president of the Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus (KACVB). Beam took office at the Dec. 13 meeting in Richmond, Ky.

KACVB is a not-for-profit organization that meets quarterly throughout the commonwealth. The organization’s goal is to improve the public awareness and understanding of the convention and visitors industry’s economic and social contribution to society as well as to monitor and influence government policies and programs affecting members, the convention and visitor industry.

In addition, the organization encourages ongoing educational opportunities for members which enhance their proficiency and to support high standards of professional practices throughout the convention and visitor industry.

“I am honored and excited to be selected and look forward to serving KACVB as president,” Beam said. “My passion for this industry locally and statewide will help contribute to the overall success of Bullitt County and Kentucky. I look forward to quality educational sessions for our members while also expanding networking opportunities.”

KACVB works with sister organizations including the Kentucky Department of Tourism, Kentucky Travel Industry Association, Kentucky Restaurant Association, Kentucky Hotel & Lodging Association and the Kentucky Marina Association.

Beam will serve as president of KACVB through the year and will conclude his appointment at the December 2018 meeting.

2018 KACVB officers include Vice President — Eric Summe, MeetNKY; Secretary — Nancy Turner, Winchester-Clark County Tourism Commission; Treasurer — Erin Carrico, Murray Convention & Visitors Bureau; Immediate Past President — Katie Fussenegger, ShelbyKY Tourist Commission.