Home » Blue Grass Airport announces board officers for 2018

Blue Grass Airport announces board officers for 2018

William V. Alford, Jr.
William V. Alford, Jr.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Jan. 24, 2018) — The Lexington-Fayette Urban County Airport Board has appointed Rear Admiral William V. Alford, Jr. USN (retired) as chair of the board for 2018. Elizabeth Woodward has been appointed as vice chair and treasurer, and James Coles has been appointed as secretary.

Admiral Alford has served as chief of staff for the United States Pacific Command, battle staff director for the United States European Command and deputy commander for the United States Sixth Fleet in Gaeta, Italy.

He has received the Navy Distinguished Service Medal, the Defense Superior Service Medal, the Legion of Merit (2) and the Meritorious Service Medal, among other awards. Admiral Alford is also the co-founder of a private investment company and has had considerable success in the business world through serving a variety of leadership roles including president and chief operating officer of D&K Wholesales Drug and vice president and general counsel of Diamond Shamrock Coal Company.

Admiral Alford, an attorney, has been a member of the Airport Board since March 2013 and has also served on the boards of the Salvation Army and Lexington Hearing and Speech Center.

The Lexington-Fayette Urban County Airport Board is the governing body for Lexington’s Blue Grass Airport. Its 10 volunteer members are appointed by the Mayor of Lexington and confirmed by the Urban County Council. Other members of the Airport Board include Ronnie Bastin, Doris Benson, Larry Deener, Garyen Denning, Daniel Mason, Richard Moloney and Don Mosier.