Home » Kentucky Arts Council seeks state poet laureate nominations

Kentucky Arts Council seeks state poet laureate nominations

FRANKFORT, Ky. — The Kentucky Arts Council is accepting poet laureate nominations, the agency announced today. The next poet laureate will serve for two years starting in 2013, succeeding current Kentucky Poet Laureate Maureen Morehead, who has served since 2011.

The state poet laureate is appointed biennially by the governor to promote the literary arts in Kentucky through readings and public presentations at meetings, seminars, conferences and events, including Kentucky Writers’ Day.

The arts council coordinates the nomination and selection process for recommendation to the governor.

“Kentucky Poet Laureate is the most distinguished state honor given to Kentucky writers,” said Lori Meadows, arts council executive director. “Kentucky has a strong literary community, and I encourage individuals and organizations to take part in the nomination process.”

Writers accomplished in any of the recognized literary forms, including poetry, fiction, biography, creative nonfiction, playwriting, etc., who are Kentucky residents with a long association with the Commonwealth qualify for nomination.

Guidelines and nomination forms are online at the arts council website. Nominations will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. Sept. 30, and may be made by an individual or organization in Kentucky or elsewhere.

Past Kentucky poets laureate include: Gurney Norman (2009–10), Jane Gentry Vance (2007–08), Sena Jeter Naslund (2005–06), Joe Survant (2003–04), the late James Baker Hall (2001–02), Richard Taylor (1999–2000), the late Joy Bale Boone (1997–98) and the late James Still (1995–96).