Home » Gov. Bevin makes appointments to Kentucky boards and commissions

Gov. Bevin makes appointments to Kentucky boards and commissions

FRANKFORT, Ky. (May 24, 2018) — Gov. Matt Bevin has made the following appointments to Kentucky boards and commissions:

Buddhi Gyawali has been appointed as a member of the Geographic Information Advisory Council.

Dr. Buddhi Gyawali, of Lexington, is an associate professor in the Division of Environmental Studies and Sustainable Systems at Kentucky State University. He will represent the Council on Postsecondary Education and serve for a term expiring Sept. 22, 2021.
The Geographic Information Advisory Council advises the executive director of the Commonwealth Office of Technology on issues relating to geographic information and geographic information systems. The council also establishes and adopts policies and procedures that assist state and local jurisdictions in developing, deploying, and leveraging geographic information resources and geographic information systems technology for the purpose of improving public administration.

Nicole Lee Jones has been appointed as a member of the Mississippi River Parkway Commission of Kentucky.

Nicole Lee Jones, of Arlington, is an administrative assistant for the Carlisle County Fiscal Court. She will serve for a term expiring Aug. 10, 2018.

The Mississippi River Parkway Commission (MRPC) is a multistate organization which works collectively to preserve, promote, and enhance the scenic, historic, and recreational resources of the Mississippi River, to foster economic growth in the corridor, and to develop the national, scenic and historic parkway known as the Great River Road. The ten states that border the Mississippi River comprise the MRPC. They include: Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi Missouri, Tennessee and Wisconsin. The MRPC is one of the only – and certainly the oldest – organizations whose work ties together all of the Mississippi River states. The commission consists of ten members, four citizen members appointed by the Governor, and consisting of one member from each of the four counties that border the Mississippi River.