Home » Bluegrass Land Conservancy announces 2019 Land Conservationist of the Year award winner

Bluegrass Land Conservancy announces 2019 Land Conservationist of the Year award winner

Libby Lloyd Jones

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Bluegrass Land Conservancy has announced that former Kentucky First Lady Libby Lloyd Jones will receive the Land Conservationist of the Year Award at the second annual Bluegrass Farm-to-Table Dinner on Sept. 28, 2019.

The Land Conservationist of the Year Award aims to recognize the efforts of individuals who make a significant and lasting contribution to land conservation and natural resource protection in the Bluegrass region of Kentucky.

“No one in the state of Kentucky has been more involved than Libby Jones in preserving land for future generations of farmers and agriculturalists,” said Helen Alexander, board chair of the Bluegrass Land Conservancy. “She is highly deserving of this honor.”

Libby Jones and her husband, former Kentucky Governor Brereton Jones, founded Airdrie Stud Farm in 1972. The 2,500-acre farm is permanently protected through a conservation easement with Bluegrass Land Conservancy. Libby Jones is a founding director of Bluegrass Land Conservancy, a director of American Farmland Trust, a director of the P.A.C.E. Board, a trustee emerita of the Kentucky Historical Society Foundation and a Midway University trustee.

The award will be presented at the annual Farm-to-Table Dinner at Ashbourne Farms in LaGrange, Ky. Hugh Archer will receive the inaugural Mary Louise Allen Memorial Award for outstanding professional service in the field of conservation. Tickets are available at bluegrasslandconservancy.org.

Since 1995, the Bluegrass Land Conservancy has protected over 27,000 acres of land in Central Kentucky, preserving natural resources and unique landscapes for future generations forever.