Home » Spotlight on the Arts

Spotlight on the Arts

Kentucky Celebrates Creativity During Governor’s Awards in the Arts
Governor’s Awards in the Arts honorees and other dignitaries.

It’s National Arts and Humanities Month, and we’d like to put a spotlight on our Governor’s Awards in the Arts recipients, who were honored Sept. 10 at the state capitol in Frankfort. These honorees exemplify the best in the arts and support of the arts in the commonwealth.

This year’s Governor’s Awards in the Arts were created by Michelle Lyn Strader and Frederick Bartolovic of Silver Run Ceramics in Catlettsburg. The awards, ceramic bourbon bottle sets on decorative wooden trays, highlight the natural world that the Commonwealth of Kentucky has to offer. The inspirations for these pieces were native flora and fauna found throughout Kentucky. Inspiration for the forms were garnered from our state’s rich history as the bourbon capital of the world.

A special thanks goes to the event sponsors, Kentucky Power and Country Music Highway 23. Their support of this special day for Kentucky’s arts community helped immensely.

Governor’s Awards in the Arts recipients were:

Milner Award: Cornelia Dozier Cooper, Pulaski County

Artist Award: Tim Hall, Estill County

Business Award: First Southern National Bank, Lincoln County

Community Arts Award: Valera Brooks, Marshall County

Education Award: CKYO MusicWorks, Fayette County

Folk Heritage Award: George Beard, Calloway County

Government Award: City of Greenville, Muhlenberg County

Media Award: Bluegrass & Backroads, Jefferson County

National Award: Chris Stapleton, Johnson County native