Home » House Committee Chairs announced as lawmakers prepare for 2023 Regular Session

House Committee Chairs announced as lawmakers prepare for 2023 Regular Session

FRANKFORT, Ky. — As members of the Kentucky House of Representatives prepare to convene the 2023 Regular Session on January 3, House Speaker David Osborne and members of House Majority Leadership released an updated list of committee chairs and co-chairs.

House standing committees meet while the legislature is in session to deliberate the issues under consideration. Each committee has jurisdiction over the issues in the specific subject matter. All legislation must go through the committee process before being considered by the full House. 2023 House standing committee chairs and vice chairs include:

  • Agriculture – Rep. Richard Heath, Chair and Rep. Dan Fister, Vice Chair
  • Appropriations and Revenue – Rep. Jason Petrie, Chair and Rep. Brandon Reed, Vice Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Protection, Tourism, and Energy – Rep. Chris Fugate, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on General Government – Rep. Chris Freeland, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Health and Family Services – Rep. Danny Bentley, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Justice, Public Safety, and Judiciary – Rep. Patrick Flannery, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Personnel, Public Retirement, and Finance – Rep. Ken Fleming, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Postsecondary Education – Rep. Bobby McCool, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education and Workforce Development – Rep. Kim Banta, Chair
  • Budget Review Subcommittee on Transportation – Rep. Ken Upchurch, Chair
  • Banking and Insurance – Rep. Michael Meredith, Chair and Rep. Matt Lockett, Vice Chair, and Rep. Sarge Pollock, Vice Chair
  • Economic Development and Workforce Investment – Rep. Russell Webber, Chair and Representative Josh Branscum, Vice Chair
  • Education – Rep. James Tipton, Chair, Representative Timmy Truett, Vice Chair, and Representative Shane Baker, Vice Chair
  • Elections, Constitutional Amendments and Intergovernmental Affairs – Rep. Kevin Bratcher, Chair and Rep. Josh Calloway, Vice Chair
  • Enrollment – Rep. Thomas Huff, Chair
  • Health – Rep. Kim Moser, Chair and Rep. Ryan Dotson, Vice Chair
  • Family Services – Rep. Samara Heavrin, Chair and Rep. Steve Riley, Vice Chair
  • Judiciary – Rep. Daniel Elliott, Chair and Rep. Jennifer Henson Decker, Vice Chair
  • Licensing, Occupations, and Administrative Regulations – Rep. Matt Koch, Chair and Rep. Tom O’Dell Smith, Vice Chair
  • Local Government – Rep. Randy Bridges, Chair and Rep. Josh Bray, Vice Chair
  • Natural Resources and Energy – Rep. Jim Gooch, Chair, Rep. Bill Wesley, Vice Chair, and Rep. Richard White, Vice Chair
  • Small Business and Information Technology – Rep. Phillip Pratt, Chair and Rep. William Lawrence, Vice Chair
  • State Government – Rep. David Hale, Chair and Rep. Mary Beth Imes, Vice Chair
  • Tourism and Outdoor Recreation – Rep. Kim King, Chair and Rep. Shawn McPherson, Vice Chair
  • Transportation – Rep. John Blanton, Chair and Rep. Jonathan Dixon, Vice Chair
  • Veterans, Military Affairs, and Public Protection – Rep. Walker Thomas, Chair and Rep. Scott Sharp, Vice Chair

Statutory committees are authorized to meet annually to provide oversight and probe specific issue areas. Membership of these panels is comprised of both House and Senate members. House statutory committee leadership includes:

  • Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee – Rep. Derek Lewis, Chair
  • Capital Planning Advisory Board – Rep. Nancy Tate, Chair
  • Capital Projects and Bond Oversight – Rep. Deanna Frazier Gordon, Chair
  • Commission on Race and Access to Opportunity – Rep. Killian Timoney, Chair
  • Education Assessment and Accountability Review Subcommittee – Rep. Scott Lewis, Chair
  • Government Contract Review – Rep. Mark Hart, Chair
  • Legislative Oversight and Investigations – Rep. Adam Bowling, Chair
  • Public Pension Oversight Board – Rep. DJ Johnson, Chair
  • Tobacco Settlement Agreement Fund Oversight Committee – Rep. Myron Dossett, Chair

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, a committee chair “serves as the parliamentary head of a committee. The chair sets the committee’s agenda, determining when—or in many states, whether—bills will be considered.”

Click here for more Kentucky business news.