Home » 16 faculty named 2023-2024 University Research Professors

16 faculty named 2023-2024 University Research Professors

LEXINGTON, Ky. — The University of Kentucky Board of Trustees approved 16 University Research Professors for the 2023-24 academic year. Established by the Board of Trustees in 1976, the professorships program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research at UK.

“The Commonwealth and university continue to benefit from the work and expertise of these dedicated scholars and scientists,” said Lisa Cassis, UK’s vice president for research. “It is an honor to recognize this outstanding group of faculty and to support their future endeavors to improve the lives of Kentuckians as we continue to expand the depth and breadth of UK’s research enterprise.”

College leadership developed criteria for excellence within their area of expertise and then nominated faculty who excelled at these criteria. Each University Research Professor receives a one-year award of $10,000 and participates in the University Research Professors Lecture Series.

The 2023-24 University Research Professors are:

  • Feng Li: Veterinary Science; College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Ann C. Morris: Biology; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Crystal Wilkinson: English; College of Arts and Sciences
  • Allison Gordon: Integrated Communication; College of Communication and Information
  • Luciana Macchion Shaddox: Periodontology; College of Dentistry
  • Michael McKay: School of Architecture; College of Design
  • Melinda J. Ickes: Kinesiology and Health Promotion; College of Education
  • YuMing Zhang: Electrical and Computer Engineering; College of Engineering
  • Dieter Hennings Yeomans: School of Music; College of Fine Arts
  • Brian Murtha: Marketing and Supply Chain; Gatton College of Business and Economics
  • Ron Zimmer: Martin School of Public Policy and Administration; Graduate School
  • Matthew Hoch: Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition; College of Health Sciences
  • Christopher M. Norris: Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences; College of Medicine
  • William Walton Stoops: Behavioral Science; College of Medicine
  • Björn Bauer: Pharmaceutical Sciences; College of Pharmacy
  • Erin N. Haynes: Epidemiology and Environmental Health; College of Public Health

This summer, the university will feature a 2023-24 University Research Professor each week on UKNow to share more about each professor’s area of research and how they are addressing scientific, social, health and economic challenges in Kentucky and beyond.

Click here for more Kentucky business news.
Click here to Advertise.