Home » Poetry Out Loud champions advance to state finals 

Poetry Out Loud champions advance to state finals 

Finals are March 12 in Frankfort

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 2, 2015) — Fifteen school champions will advance to the Poetry Out Loud state competition March 12 at the Grand Theatre in Frankfort.
 The winner will advance to the Poetry Out Loud national finals April 28-29 in Washington, D.C.

poetryEach student is judged on the recitation of two poems, which are selected by the student and their teachers from a preapproved list of works.

The school champions are:

  • Matt Bradshaw, Butler Traditional High School, Jefferson County
  • Hayley Bryan, Grant County High School
  • Naomi Cliett, Elizabethtown High School, Hardin County
  • Sierra DeShane, Allen County Scottsville High School, Allen County
  • Cassandra Mullins, East Ridge High School, Pike County
  • Loren Prather, Graves County High School
  • Cacia Rose, George Rogers Clark High School, Clark County
  • Brooke Salsman, McCracken County High School
  • Haylee Stevens, Phelps Junior and Senior High School, Pike County
  • Taryn Syck, Pike County Central High School
  • Katelyn Taylor, Franklin County High School
  • Gabby Thompson, Boyd County High School
  • Kaleb Trent, Hart County High School
  • Connor Wagner, West Carter High School, Carter County
  • Cameron Wilson, Western Hills High School, Franklin County