Home » UofL recognizes top scholars

UofL recognizes top scholars

Eight students earned Fulbright Awards

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (May 6, 2015) — The University of Louisville has unveiled the names of 16 scholars who have earned some of the most prominent awards in academia. The group of students and recent alumni—who will travel to destinations around the globe—was introduced to the public and campus community at a news conference on Tuesday.

Honors_4911“UofL’s faculty, staff and board members should be proud of the role they’ve played in producing such outstanding scholars,” UofL President James Ramsey said. “It’s further proof that UofL continues to recruit and then graduate incredible students with worldwide ambitions, on par with some Ivy League institutions.”

Including this year, there have been 87 UofL Fulbright award winners since 2003—more than all other Kentucky institutions combined.

Eight scholars earned 2015 U.S. Student Fulbright Awards:

Two graduating seniors were selected as Critical Language Scholars:

Junior Adeline Wilson earned an English Speaking Union scholarship.

Some of the students recognized earned international scholarships bestowed by the university’s College of Arts and Sciences.

The winner of the Mary Churchill Humphrey Memorial Scholarship was graduating senior Megg Ward.

Undergraduate students Stephanie Dooper, Brandt Coleman and Philip Moore were all recipients of the Etscorn Honors Scholarship.

The university also had Kentucky’s only 2015 Truman Scholar, Amanda Allen. That award was announced separately on April 16.

Patricia Condon, who heads the National and International Scholarship Opportunities office, has spent years building UofL’s program and working with the campus community to create a pipeline of academically gifted, top-notch scholars.