Home » Flood Mitigation Workgroup created in Louisville

Flood Mitigation Workgroup created in Louisville

Thousands of homes damaged by April 3 storm

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (May 6, 2015) — Mayor Greg Fischer and Metro Council president David Tandy today announced the membership of the Flood Mitigation Workgroup.

Members are:

  • Tonya Sangester, Emergency Management Agency
  • Jim McKinney, All Hazards Mitigation Coordinator
  • Jim Mims, Director of Develop Louisville
  • Councilman Dan Johnson
  • Councilwoman Madonna Flood
  • Councilwoman Angela Leet
  • John Phelps, Joyce Mott, Greg Heitzman, and Angela Akridge, all from Louisville MSD.
  • Greg Heitzman will serve as the Chair of the workgroup

Fischer and Tandy announced the workgroup following the eight-inch rain of April 3, when thousands of homes were impacted by rain water and localized flooding near creeks and streams in Jefferson County. A metro ordinance will not allow homes in the flood plain to be improved when the cost exceeds half of the property value over a 10-year period. Due to frequent rain events over the past six years, some homes in the flood plain have now exceeded the 50 percent improvement value and are not allowed to rebuild.

The workgroup will begin immediately to identify short-term solutions and deliver recommendations to the Mayor, Metro Council and MSD Board within 30 days. In addition, the workgroup will also evaluate long-term solutions to mitigate damage to the 12,500 homes in Jefferson County located within the flood zone. The workgroup will deliver long-term recommendations within six months.