Home » Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center receives Quality Award from Kentucky Hospital Association

Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center receives Quality Award from Kentucky Hospital Association

Quality Award - Ephraim McDowell
Jason Dean, BSN, RN, Clinical Effectiveness Manager, Trina Clarkson, BSN, SANE, Emergency Department Director, Kim Reynolds, APRN, FNP-C, CCRN, CCCC, Director of Cardiac Cath and Chest Pain Center Coordinator and Dennis Johnson, KHA Board Chair

DANVILLE, Ky. (May 14, 2015) – Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center (EMRMC) was recognized for the high quality of care given to its patients. On May 8, EMRMC received the 2015 Kentucky Hospital Association (KHA) Quality Award. The KHA Quality Award is presented to honor hospital leadership and innovation in quality, safety and commitment in patient care. The Award was presented to Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center for earning Chest Pain Center accreditation.

In January 2014, a Chest Pain Center Committee was formed at EMRMC with a purpose of improving cardiac care for the Acute Coronary Syndrome (ACS) patient through evidence-based practices, education, optimizing resources for patients and ongoing performance improvement. The committee’s mission is to guide patients through a cardiac pathway to improve quality of care and outcomes for ACS patients.

The multi-disciplinary committee is comprised of the chief nursing officer; physicians from the specialties of cardiology, hospitalists and Emergency Department; Cath Lab staff; nursing representing the Critical Care Unit, Cardiovascular Unit and E.D.; Emergency Medical Services; the Chest Pain coordinator (Kim Reynolds, APRN, CCRN, FNP-C, CCCC); the Chest Pain medical director (Sharat Koul, D.O.); and staff from education, diagnostics, lab, community services, performance improvement/clinical effectiveness, case management, regulatory compliance and information services.

Because of the tireless efforts of the Chest Pain Center Committee, improvements in the quality of care and outcomes for the ACS patient have been achieved through standardized processes and the work of interdisciplinary teams. Following an on-site survey in December 2014, Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center was granted accreditation as a Chest Pain Center with PCI through the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care.

“Our Chest Pain Center Committee worked countless hours to improve outcomes for our patients and earn our Chest Pain Center accreditation,” says Vicki A. Darnell, president & CEO, Ephraim McDowell Health.  “This award from the Kentucky Hospital Association validates the hard work and dedication of our Associates in providing the best care possible to our patients.”