Home » Public Safety Dispatch Academy graduates 20

Public Safety Dispatch Academy graduates 20

100th class to graduate program

RICHMOND, Ky. (May 26, 2015) — Law enforcement dispatchers from 13 communications centers across the state graduated Friday from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

Dispatch Class 100 with wordsThe 20 dispatchers comprised DOCJT’s 100th telecommunications academy class since its inception in 1999. The academy graduates’ five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

Dispatch personnel basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employees who are employed to dispatch law enforcement by means of radio communications on a full-time basis at a Criminal Justice Information Systems, or CJIS, agency.

Public Safety Dispatch Class No. 100 graduated nine trainees of distinction. In order to be a trainee of distinction, graduates must have a GPA of 95 or above, no failures or retests and no disciplinary action above a verbal warning.

Class 100 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Emily D. Burns, Madison County E-911
  • Ashley Nicole Candea, Todd County Dispatch
  • Michael Andrew Couch, Barren/Metcalfe County 911
  • Jennifer Duff, Lexington Enhanced 911
  • Carissa D. Evans, Boyd County PSCC 911
  • Britaney R. Fleming, Lexington Enhanced 911
  • James B. Hughes, Bluegrass 911 Central Communications
  • Jonathan Jackson, Clay County 911
  • Amber M. Lanford, Hardin County E-911
  • Bethany McFadden, Lexington Enhanced 911
  • Tiawana D. Morris, Jefferson County Public Schools Police Department
  • Sarah Mullen, Campbell County Dispatch
  • Donnie Salmons, Lexington Enhanced 911
  • Tyler A. Shaw, Western Kentucky University Police Department
  • Hannah Spicer, Boyd County 911
  • Samuel J. Spille, Kenton County Emergency Communications
  • Crystal Jenice Westerfield, Muhlenberg County 911
  • Sara Lynn Whitson, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Amanda Renee Youle, Lexington Enhanced 911
  • Jennifer Youngworth, Lexington Enhanced 911