Home » Council on Postsecondary Education approves six new academic programs

Council on Postsecondary Education approves six new academic programs

Also approved tuition proposals

HAZARD, Ky. (June 12, 2015) — The Council on Postsecondary Education approved six new academic programs for three institutions today at its business meeting.

councilNew programs are:

  • Doctorate of Arts in English, pedagogy and technology at Murray State University
  • Bachelor of Arts in secondary education and teaching, Education Specialist in teaching and leading and a Master of Arts in legal studies at Northern Kentucky University
  • Master of Science in geographic information science and cartography, and Master of Science in applied behavior analysis at the University of Kentucky.

The council also approved the following tuition proposals: Kentucky State University, 5 percent; Morehead State University, 3 percent; University of Louisville, 3 percent; and Western Kentucky University, 3.1 percent.

All rates comply with the Council’s two-year tuition ceilings that limit the amount colleges and universities can increase rates while balancing campus needs to offset state budget cuts and increased costs. Rates are now set for all public campuses for the upcoming year.

In other action the council:

  • Approved a special use fee exception request from Western Kentucky University to construct a $10 million parking structure to serve residential and commuter students. The fee increase will be $30 per semester for full-time students and will be prorated for part-time students. The student-endorsed fee takes effect this fall.
  • Authorized a $625,000 project to improve campus pedestrian and bicycle pathways at Jefferson Community and Technical College. The project will be funded primarily with federal funds.
  • Approved tuition reciprocity agreements with Ohio.
  • Approved a dual credit policy for public postsecondary institutions.
  • Approved the Council President’s plan of work for the period July 2015-June 2016.