Home » Court cases in 12 more Kentucky counties can now be filed electronically

Court cases in 12 more Kentucky counties can now be filed electronically

Should be available in all counties by end of 2015

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 19, 2015) — Attorneys with court cases in 12 more Kentucky counties may now file them without making a trip to a courthouse. The Administrative Office of the Courts began offering electronic case filing today in Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Harlan, Jackson, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Owsley, Perry, Powell and Wolfe counties.

eFiling is available 24/7 and attorneys with access may file case documents electronically in any of the 106 Kentucky counties that offer the program. Since the start of eFiling in December 2013, more than 930 attorneys and other users, such as sheriffs, have filed more than 41,000 documents electronically.

Attorneys are putting the program to work, filing case documents during normal business hours, after hours and on weekends. AOC plans to have the program available in all 120 Kentucky counties by the end of 2015.

“eFiling is ushering in an important new era for the Kentucky justice system,” Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. said. “Gone will be the days of attorneys on deadline rushing to file a motion before the courthouse closes. Now they can take care of business for their clients anywhere and anytime. I appreciate the local judges and circuit court clerks who have embraced these changes and worked with the AOC to implement eFiling in their counties. The state’s entire legal system will become more efficient as we process cases electronically.”

Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 2.43.02 PM