Home » Lineup announced for 2016 Owensboro ROMP bluegrass festival

Lineup announced for 2016 Owensboro ROMP bluegrass festival

More than 25,000 people attended last year’s event

OWENSBORO, Ky. (Dec. 15, 2015) — The musician lineup has been announced for ROMP, the annual bluegrass music festival scheduled from June 22-25, 2016 at Yellow Creek Park in Owensboro. This will be the 13th year of the festival.

rompHeadlining the 2016 show will be Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductee Del McCoury. Joining him will be Sam Bush, the famed founder of progressive bluegrass, and Grammy-award winning musician and producer Jerry Douglas, who presents the Earls of Leicester.

Last year’s festival attracted a record 25,116 attendees from eight countries, making ROMP one of the largest festivals of its kind in the world. In addition to music the festival includes original arts and crafts, farm-to-table and organic food vendors and professionally led children’s activities.

“ROMP attracts thousands of bluegrass fans for a reason, and there are many more for planning a family vacation to Owensboro,” said Shannon Wetzel, executive director of Visit Owensboro. “Owensboro has so much going on around ROMP to make it a great travel destination.”

In 2016 the International Bluegrass Music Museum, producer of the event, will open new exhibits, host daytime performances, and present a documentary film festival tracing the history of bluegrass back to Bill Monroe, whose birthplace is nearby in Rosine.

Admission to the museum in downtown Owensboro is free with a ROMP pass. Shuttle transportation will operate daily between Yellow Creek and the museum.

Dozens of acts will take the main stage. Joining the headliners are Grammy-award winners the Steep Canyon Rangers, an act noted for a progressive yet sophisticated sound. Newly inducted hall of fame member Larry Sparks and the Lonesome Ramblers will play a traditional bluegrass gospel sound. The Grammy nominated bluegrass jammers Infamous Stringdusters, The Travelin’ McCoury’s, an all female group and IBMA guitar player of the year Della Mae add to the lineup.

Also performing will be the Bluegrass All Stars, a group of musicians from the museum’s Saturday Lessons Program. From February through June students receive lessons from professional instructors with the use of loaner instruments provided by the museum. The program is part of the museum’s educational outreach that includes Bluegrass in the Schools.

ROMP 2016 lineup:

  • Del McCoury Band
  • Sam Bush Band
  • Jerry Douglas presents the Earls of Leicester
  • Infamous Stringdusters
  • Steep Canyon Rangers
  • Larry Sparks and the Lonesome Ramblers
  • Bryan Sutton Band
  • Della Mae
  • The Travelin’ McCourys
  • Scythian
  • Town Mountain
  • Mipso
  • Wood & Wire
  • Front Country
  • The Tillers
  • Jon Stickley Trio
  • Old Salt Union
  • The Lil’ Smokies
  • Monogram (Czech Republic)
  • Breaking Grass
  • Bumper Jacksons
  • Annabelle Watts and Friends
  • Kentucky Bluegrass All Stars