Home » On the Move: January 2015

On the Move: January 2015

By The Lane Report staff


  • Pat Durham has been named executive vice president for the Building Industry Association of Greater Louisville. He succeeds Chuck Kavanaugh, who is retiring in May.


  • Hal Boyd has been named special assistant to the president at Eastern Kentucky University. He succeeds Matt Roan, who has been named deputy director of athletics at EKU.
  • John Grove has been named director of the University of Kentucky’s Research and Education Center in Princeton, Ky. Grove is a soil scientist in UK’s College of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • Brian Kuster has been appointed vice president for student affairs at  Western Kentucky University.
  • Allison Gardner Martin has been named chief of communications and community relations for Jefferson County Public Schools.


  • Doug Bostick has been promoted to vice president of franchise services for Fazoli’s, a Lexington-based fast-casual Italian restaurant chain.


  • Dinah Bevington has been named executive director of the Kentucky Optometric Association. Bevington comes to the position from state government, where she most recently served as acting secretary of the Kentucky Personnel Cabinet.


  • Timothy W. Dunn has been elected as a partner in the law firm of Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP. Dunn, who works out of the firm’s Lexington office, has a multidisciplinary practice that concentrates on the general areas of estate planning, small-business planning, asset protection planning and estate and trust administration.


  • Louisville Gas and Electric Co. and Kentucky Utilities Co. have announced that Ed Staton, vice president of state regulation and rates, and Greg Thomas, vice president of electric distribution, will retire in February and March 2016, respectively. Robert Conroy, director of rates, will be promoted to Staton’s role and John Wolfe, director of electric system restoration and dispatch, will be promoted to vice president of electric distribution.


Gov. Matt Bevin has announced the following appointments in state government:

  • Adjutant General of the Commonwealth of Kentucky: Stephen R. Hogan. Brigadier General Hogan has more than 30 years in service to the nation and the commonwealth and most recently led efforts to protect the dependents of service members as the chief executive officer of the Military Interstate Children’s Compact Commission.
  • Chief of Staff: James “Blake” Brickman. Brickman previously served as U.S. Senator Jim Bunning’s Chief of Staff in Washington D.C., working closely with many state and federal officials and government agencies. After moving back to Kentucky, Brickman practiced law as a civil litigator and in-house counsel.
  • Commissioner of the Department of Parks: Donnie Holland. Holland has served as general manager of Wabash National Trailer Centers, general manager for Johnson Controls Inc. and president of Benson International.
  • Department of Revenue Commissioner: Daniel Bork. Bork recently retired as vice president of tax for Lexington-based Lexmark International Inc. He has also served as president of the Kentucky Chapter of the Tax Executives Institute and has served on the board of directors of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.
  • Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary: Hal Heiner. Heiner is a Louisville businessman who has been active in civic and political activities. He served for eight years on the Louisville Metro Council and has been a vice chairman with Greater Louisville Inc.
  • Energy and Environment Cabinet Secretary: Charles G. Snavely. Snavely most recently served as president of the Eastern
    U.S. operations for Arch Coal Inc.
  • Executive Cabinet Secretary: Scott Brinkman. Brinkman is a former Kentucky state representative and attorney with more than 35 years of legal and management experience.
  • Financial and Administration Cabinet Secretary: William M. Landrum III. Landrum is a retired U.S. Army colonel who has more than 36 years of military and corporate experience in resource management and financial operations for sensitive military intelligence and clandestine programs across the Department of Defense.
  • General Counsel for the Office of Governor: Stephen Pitt. Pitt has practiced law for Wyatt, Tarrant, and Combs LLP for 38 years. Pitt has been lead litigation counsel for numerous national companies during his career, including DuPont, General Electric, Rockwell International and Occidental Chemical.
  • Health and Family Services Cabinet Secretary: Vickie Yates Brown Glisson.
    Glisson is a nationally recognized health and health insurance lawyer and member of the Health Enterprise Practice Group at Frost Brown Todd LLC, where she concentrates her practice in healthcare, health insurance law, government affairs, informatics and mediation.
  • Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary: John Tilley. Tilley is a former prosecutor who has been nationally recognized for his work on criminal justice reform and drug policy. He has served five terms as a state representative from Hopkinsville and has chaired the House Judiciary Committee since 2009.
  • Labor Cabinet Secretary: Derrick K. Ramsey. In 2004, Ramsey was named Kentucky’s deputy secretary of commerce and most recently served as athletic director for Coppin State University.
  • Local Government Commissioner: Sandra Dunahoo. Dunahoo most recently served as a project development specialist and funding consultant for Nesbitt Engineering in Lexington. She has also served as a projects manager and local government liaison to U.S. Congressman Hal Rogers, where she worked with local governments seeking federal funding.
  • Personnel Cabinet Secretary: Thomas B. Stephens. Stephens is an attorney and entrepreneur focused on new business development. He has held various positions in government, including general counsel to the Kentucky Personnel Cabinet, and has served as corporate counsel for Nicholasville-based Alltech, an international animal health and nutrition company.
  • Public Protection Cabinet Secretary: David Dickerson. Dickerson comes to the position from Dickerson Lumber Co., where he served as corporate officer for the family business, managing day-to-day operations.
  • State Budget Director: John E. Chilton. Chilton is co-founder of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP, a regional accounting firm.
  • Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet Secretary: Don Parkinson. Parkinson is a retired senior vice president of Louisville-based KFC and YUM! Brands. He has also twice served as interim president of the Kentucky Center for the Arts.


  • Robert Beck has stepped down as chairman of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.
  • Patrick Grismer has announced that he will resign as chief financial officer of Louisville-based YUM! Brands Inc., effective Feb. 19.