Home » Ten Ky. colleges named to Tree Campus USA program

Ten Ky. colleges named to Tree Campus USA program

Recognized by Arbor Day Foundation

LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 7, 2016) — Ten Kentucky institutions of higher education have been named to the Tree Campus USA program. The national program was created in 2008 by the Arbor Day Foundation to honor colleges and universities for effective campus forest management and for engaging staff and students in conservation goals.

To be recognized schools have to reach five standards that include: A Campus Tree advisory committee; a Campus Tree care plan; a Campus Tree program with dedicated annual expenditure; a service learning project; and an Arbor Day observance.

Kentucky schools named Tree Campus USA:

  • Bellarmine University
  • Berea College
  • Bluegrass Community and Technical College
  • Centre College
  • Eastern Kentucky University
  • Morehead State University
  • Northern Kentucky University
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Louisville
  • Western Kentucky University