Home » Dept. of Education holding Town Hall Meetings to get feedback for new accountability system

Dept. of Education holding Town Hall Meetings to get feedback for new accountability system

11 meetings planned

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 7, 2016) — Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen Pruitt today announced a series of regional Town Hall Meetings to gather feedback on how Kentuckians define school success. Ideas and suggestions collected at meetings will be used by the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) to inform the development of a new and more effective accountability system.

“It is my goal to collaborate with legislators, educators, students and the public to produce a system that is fair, reliable, valid and easier to understand than what we have now,” Pruitt said.

Congress recently re-authorization the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, now known as the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). ESSA shifts much of the oversight and responsibility for schools from the federal government to the state – including how accountability is determined and how to define and improve low performing schools.

“The new federal law gives us an incredible opportunity here in Kentucky to bring all shareholders to the table to create a system that not only holds schools and districts accountable for students’ education, but also celebrates good things happening in our schools,” said Pruitt.

“The Town Hall Meetings are critical to this effort, and I hope parents, community members, teachers, students, legislators, business owners and concerned citizens will come to these meetings ready to share their thoughts and ideas,” he said. “Together we will create a new system that will ensure we do the very best for all our kids and provide them with a well-rounded education that will prepare them to be successful, productive citizens of the commonwealth.”

A Virtual Town Hall Meeting also is being planned. Anyone unable to attend a meeting can submit tsuggestions and comments at [email protected].

Town Hall Meetings (all meetings from 6:30-8 p.m. local time):

  • March 14: Southside Elementary School, Shelbyville
  • March 22: Campbellsville University, Campbellsville
  • March 29: Daviess County High School, Owensboro
  • March 31: Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative, Hazard
  • April 7: Kentucky High School Athletic Association, Lexington
  • April 11: Southeast/Southcentral Education Cooperative, Corbin
  • April 18: Kentucky Educational Development Corporation, Ashland
  • April 21: Seneca High School Magnet Career Center, Louisville
  • April 25: Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights
  • April 27: GRREC Offices and Training Center, Bowling Green
  • April 28: Murray Middle School, Murray