Home » 41 Fellows complete Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy

41 Fellows complete Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy

Third year of program

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 12, 2016) — The Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium announced that 41 Fellows have completed its third Bluegrass Academic Leadership Academy. The Academic Leadership Academy is a presidential initiative, led by the 12 presidents represented in the consortium, to build future academic leaders in the Bluegrass Region.

image006In three years 134 Fellows have completed the program. The academy encourage faculty and staff to consider leadership career paths and to provide guidance in developing the skills that are requisites for effective institutional leadership to ensure a sound and successful future for their institution and the Bluegrass Region. The Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium and the Academic Leadership Academy are managed by Bluegrass Tomorrow

Faculty and staff from BHEC member schools receiving an Academic Leadership Academy certificates of completion are: Jill Campbell and Lisa Clifton of Asbury University; Chris Lakes, Deborah Martin, Peter Hackbert and Javier Clavere of Berea College; Don Halcomb, Susan Hayes and Zachary Simpson of Bluegrass Community and Technical College; Marie Petkus, Alex McAllister, John Kinkade, Joel Kilty and Robert Bosco of Centre College; Mary DeLetter, Jeremy Mulholland and Minh Nguyen of Eastern Kentucky University; Jane Arrington, Mike Brown, John Henkel and Libby Whitis of Georgetown College; Christina Leath and N’Namdi Paskins of Kentucky State University; April Gentry and Edie McClellan of Midway University; Shannon Smith-Stephens, Jennifer Crisp-Timmermann; Krys Lynam, Johnathan Nelson, Doug Chatham and David Litteral of Morehead State University; Mohamed Abualhaija of Sullivan University; Bob Brown, Zoe Strecker and Ryan Stuffelbeam of Transylvania University; and Chana Akins, DeShana Collett, Melinda Ickes, Huajing Maske and Seungahn Nah of the University of Kentucky.

The Academic Leadership Academy also addresses one of the goals the presidents set in the signing of the charter agreement for the consortium in 2012: “To design professional development/leadership development opportunities for administration, faculty and staff.”

Fellows experienced two full-day sessions on Feb. 18 at Berea College and April 29 at Spindletop at UK. Keynote presentation by presidents for the two sessions included:  resident Lyle Roelofs of Berea College, President Seamus Carey of Transylvania University; and President Eli Capilouto of UK. Presidents addressed one of the key objectives of the curriculum is to expand understanding of the environment in which institutional decisions are made in the 21st century.

On campus interim projects were also completed with faculty working together in teams to work on a project which benefits each participating educational institution: Asbury University Cross Cultural Engagement Requirements; Berea College “Invent Your Life” student model; BCTC challenges of first year faculty members; Centre College improving faculty recognition programs; EKU “Metacognition” student’s awareness of their own learning styles and study habits; Georgetown College promoting its strong, traditional liberal arts curriculum as effective career preparation in response to recent attacks on the liberal arts; Kentucky State University “Transformation 2.0 Accountability, Commitment and Urgency;” Midway University a campus-wide teaching and learning program for faculty development; Morehead State University “MCOMPASS: Mobile App to Aid Student Success and Retention;” Sullivan University soft-skill, toastmaster training for advisory boards; Transylvania University comparison of core general education goals with Berea, Centre and Sewannee; and University of Kentucky “Perspectives on Recruitment, Promotion and Retention of Women Faculty.”