Home » DOCJT graduates 24 from sergeant’s course

DOCJT graduates 24 from sergeant’s course

RICHMOND, Ky. (Oct. 3, 2016) — Law enforcement officers from 21 agencies were recognized Friday for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 67th to complete APS since the program began in 2003.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

APS Class 67 graduates:

Jason Allison, Nelson County Sheriff’s Office
Daron Arnberg, Newport Police Department
Corey Cadwell, Louisville Metro Police Department
Ryan W. Conn, Paducah Police Department
Al Dixon, Department of Criminal Justice Training
Jay Dunn, Mayfield Police Department
Jason Gilliam, Cincinnati/N. KY Int’l. Airport Police Department
Gregory P. Haigis, Highland Heights Police Department
Robert Hutchins, Blue Grass Airport Police Department
Jay Herndon, Murray Police Department
Eric Hylander, Maysville Police Department
Bobby Jones, Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office
Brian P. Kane, Covington Police Department
Paul E. Mattingly II, Daviess County Sheriff’s Office
Jason D. McGaha, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Mary L. Moore, Russellville Police Department
Michael Nichols, Owensboro Police Department
Michael Richman, Independence Police Department
Raymond P. Ridgell, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Corey Robinson, Louisville Metro Police Department
Randall S. Smith, Somerset Police Department
Brandon Stice, Bowling Green Police Department
Zachary Sutton, Maysville Police Department
Randall Webb, University of Kentucky Police Department