Home » Burn bans issued in 83 Kentucky counties

Burn bans issued in 83 Kentucky counties

Outdoor burning prohibited in those counties

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 16, 2016) — The Kentucky Division of Forestry has now placed burn bans on 83 counties in the wake of wildfires in Kentucky.

Screen Shot 2016-11-16 at 3.02.53 PMIf you are in a county with a burn ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited and violations can be reported to 911. If you are in a county without a burn ban, regular fall fire hazard statute applies, which means that burning between 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. within 150 feet of a woodland is not allowed. Even then, Kentuckians are encourage all to delay any outdoor burning until significant rains reduce the fire threat.

Counties with burn bans are: Adair, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Breathitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Cempbell, Carlisle, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Garrard, Graves, Green, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, Mason, McCracken, McCreary, Mercer, Metcalfe, Morgan, Monroe, Montgomery, Muhlenberg, Nicholas, Ohio, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Robinson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Shelby, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, Wolfe.