Home » 13 projects awarded $5.7M in Community Development Block Grants

13 projects awarded $5.7M in Community Development Block Grants

Includes $997,000 to Fritz Winter Rail Spur Development

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Feb. 10, 2017) —  More than $5.7 million in Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) were announced today for 13 new projects in Kentucky.

“Each project is designed to aid critical infrastructure needs across the commonwealth, such as water safety, public facilities and local health resources,” said Gov. Matt Bevin. “These block grants will not only have a significant impact on improving quality of life for Kentuckians, but will create economic opportunity and jobs as well. Great things happen when we work together.”

The 13 projects are:

  • Hawesville WWTP in Hancock County, $800,000.
  • Cumberland Hope Community in Harlan County, $220,000.
  • Hickory Hill Recovery Center for Men (Recovery Kentucky) in Knott County, $220,000.
  • Madison Co. God’s Outreach Food Bank Expansion Project in Madison County, $300,000.
  • Gamiliel City Hall and Community Ctr Architectural Barrier Removal Project in Monroe County, $85,000.
  • Centertown Water Tank Project in Ohio County, $403,000.
  • Hartford Water System Capital Improvements Project in Ohio County, $896,250.
  • Apple Patch Education Adult Day Program Relocation Project in Oldham County, $405,000.
  • Mt. Olivet Wastewater Treatment Plant Renovation and Expansion in Robertson County, $634,500.
  • Morehead Inspiration Ctr (Recovery Kentucky) in Rowan County, $220,000.
  • Fritz Winter Rail Spur Development in Simpson County, $997,000.
  • Todd County Health Department Expansion Project in Todd County, $500,000.
  • Guthrie Koppers Natural Gas Line Project in Todd County, $100,000.

CDBG provides assistance to communities for use in revitalizing neighborhoods, expanding affordable housing and economic opportunities, providing infrastructure and/or improving community facilities and services.