Home » Work Ready Skills Advisory Committee considering 21 projects for $34M in funding

Work Ready Skills Advisory Committee considering 21 projects for $34M in funding

Second round of funding

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 20, 2017) — The Work Ready Skills Advisory Committee, formed to review and select proposals for the commonwealth’s new $100 million workforce bond program, has identified 21 projects for continued consideration for second-round funding. The committee plans to award about $34 million in the second round.

The 10-member committee met today to review 41 applications that requested a total of more than $165 million. The projects include construction and renovation of facilities and the purchase of new equipment aimed at providing workforce training and education in Kentucky’s top five growth sectors of advanced manufacturing, transportation and logistics, business services and information technology, healthcare, and construction trades. The committee is scheduled to reconvene in May to interview the 21 applicants that have requested nearly $77 million for projects.

Launched in July 2016, the Work Ready Skills Initiative is aimed at developing a highly trained, modernized workforce to meet the needs of employers and promote sustainable incomes for Kentuckians. On Jan. 31, the committee awarded about $65.5 million to 25 projects in the first round of funding.

Projects under consideration for the second round of funding:

  • Adair County Board of Education
  • Big Sandy Community & Technical College
  • Breckinridge County Area Technology Center
  • Christian County Public Schools
  • Estill County Board of Education
  • Frankfort Independent Schools
  • Freestore Foodbank
  • Garrard County Schools
  • Gateway Community & Technical College
  • Green River/Hart County & Caverna Schools
  • Home Builders Association of Northern Kentucky
  • Johnson County Schools (GREATT)
  • Kenton County Schools
  • Logan County Schools
  • Mason County Schools
  • McCracken County Public Schools
  • Ohio County Work Ready Committee
  • Russell County Board of Education
  • Taylor County School District
  • University of the Cumberlands
  • Washington County Schools