Home » Twenty officers graduate from DOCJT sergeant’s academy

Twenty officers graduate from DOCJT sergeant’s academy

RICHMOND, Ky. (June 29, 2012) — Law enforcement officers from 17 agencies across the commonwealth were recognized at a graduation ceremony today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 120-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, as well as leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 46th to complete APS since the program began in 2003.

Henderson Police Department Maj. David Y. Pillar served as guest speaker.

Owensboro Police Sgt. Bradley R. Youngman served as class speaker.

APS is a stepping stone to the Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus.

APS 46 graduates and their agencies are:

Sgt. Terry Black, Louisville Metro Police Department

Sgt. Patrick Brannen, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources (5th District)

Sgt. Quent Cardwell, Lebanon Police Department

Chief Deputy John E. Cottrell, Bullitt County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Chad M. Cunningham, Louisville Metro Police Department

Lt. Dennis L. Foley, Whitley County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Gregory A. Gibson, Georgetown Police Department

Sgt. Joseph G. Gonzales, Radcliff Police Department

Sgt. Daniel Grigsby, Danville Police Department

Sgt. David Marques, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources (6th District)

Sgt. Randy T. Medlock, London Police Department

Sgt. Tim A. Morris, Mount Washington Police Department

Lt. Erick A. Pacheco, Hopkinsville Police Department

Sgt. Jason Poole, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Jermaine Poynter, Henderson Police Department

Sgt. Joshua C. Richardson, Elizabethtown Police Department

Cpl. Russell M. Stoner, Henderson Police Department

Sgt. Chris Watkins, Mayfield Police Department

Sgt. Russell A. Wood, Independence Police Department

Sgt. Bradley R. Youngman, Owensboro Police Department