Home » More than $500,000 awarded to 6 counties for sustainable road projects

More than $500,000 awarded to 6 counties for sustainable road projects

FRANKFORT, Ky.  — The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet (EEC) has awarded $502,497 in grant funding to six counties for rubber-modified asphalt projects utilizing waste tires. The projects will reduce both maintenance costs and road noise.

Counties receiving grants include:

  • Grayson ($98,947)
  • Hardin ($67,500)
  • Henderson ($27,016)
  • Muhlenberg ($105,720)
  • Marshall ($87,889)
  • Allen ($115,425)

The grant funding will be used for the application of chip seal or asphalt overlay to county or metro government roads. Chip seal is a pavement surface treatment that combines one or more layers of liquid asphalt with one or more layers of fine aggregate. Asphalt overlay consists of a new layer of asphalt applied over an existing road surface.

Roads being surfaced include: 

  • New Buck Creek Road, Allen County
  • Sulfur Wells Road, Grayson County
  • Smith Mill Road, Hardin County
  • Old Corydon Road, Henderson County
  • Dusty Trail, Marshall County
  • Cleaton Road, Muhlenberg County

The money for these projects comes from the Kentucky Waste Tire Trust Fund, which receives $2 from every new tire sold in the commonwealth.

The cabinet will be performing testing and long-term monitoring to assess the effectiveness of rubber-modified asphalt in Kentucky. As a condition of the grant funding, counties agree to pay for the application of conventional chip seal or thin overlay on a road in their county with similar characteristics, to allow for comparison between conventional and rubber-modified asphalt.

Click here for more Kentucky business news.