Home » TOBA names officers and three new trustees to board

TOBA names officers and three new trustees to board

LEXINGTON, Ky. — The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association announced today the re-election of Brant Laue as chairman of its Board of Trustees. Also joining Laue on the Board of Trustees to serve three-year terms as new members are Barbara Banke, Carrie Brogden, and Tim Cohen.

Re-elected to three-year terms were current trustees Greg Bensel, Robert Edwards Jr., Tanya Gunther, and Walker Hancock.

“I thank the trustees for their support,” Laue said. “Racing has fared well through the pandemic and some positive trends are continuing in 2021, but the pandemic has created new challenges for the industry that TOBA plans to be a part of the collaborative effort to address.”

Following its annual member’s meeting, the TOBA Board of Trustees met to elect officers for the association. Officers named for 2021-2022 are: Brant Laue, chairman, David O’Farrell, vice-chairman, Dan Metzger, president; Doug Cauthen, secretary; and Garrett O’Rourke, treasurer.

The TOBA Board also approved the appointment of Dr. J. David Richardson and reappointments of Everett Dobson and Walker Hancock to the American Graded Stakes Committee. The 2021-2022 committee is comprised of TOBA members Everett Dobson (chair), Barbara Banke, Reynolds Bell, Jr., Craig Bernick, Walker Hancock, and DJ. David Richardson and racing officials Rick Hammerle (Oaklawn Park and Kentucky Downs), Ben Huffman (Churchill Downs and Keeneland), Chris Merz (Santa Anita Park), Martin Panza (NYRA) and Thomas Robbins (Del Mar).