Home » Big Rivers-Wilson Station earns Governor’s Safety and Health Award

Big Rivers-Wilson Station earns Governor’s Safety and Health Award

1.7 million hours without a lost time injury

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Mar. 22, 2016) — The 100 employees of Big Rivers Electric Corporation–Wilson Station have earned a Governor’s Safety and Health Award for their 1.7 million hours of work without a lost time injury, Labor Cabinet Secretary Derrick Ramsey announced.

“The hardworking men and women of the Wilson Station have gone nearly nine years without a serious injury on the job,” Ramsey said. “This coal-fired facility has generated over 29 million megawatt-hours during this same time period and it is only fitting that they are recognized for their efforts.”

Based in Henderson, Big Rivers Electric Corporation is comprised of three cooperatives: Jackson Purchase Energy, Kenergy Corporation, and Meade County RECC. Together, they serve 114,000 members over 22 counties, including: Carlisle, Ballard, McCracken, Graves, Marshall, Livingston, Lyon, Crittenden, Caldwell, Union, Webster, Hopkins, Henderson, McLean, Muhlenberg, Daviess, Ohio, Hancock, Breckinridge, Grayson, Meade, and Hardin counties.

“The safety and health of our employees is the top priority in everything we do at Big Rivers,” said Bob Berry, president of Big Rivers Electric Corporation. “This distinguished award reflects the hard work and dedication of the Wilson Station employees and I applaud the leadership of IBEW Local 1701, as well as the employees and management who contributed to this remarkable achievement.”

The Kentucky Labor Cabinet presents the Governor’s Safety and Health Award to highlight outstanding safety and health performance in Kentucky’s workplaces. A business may qualify for the award if its employees achieve a required number of hours worked without experiencing a lost time injury or illness. The required number of hours is dependent upon the number of employees. The Wilson Station employees have worked 3,207 days injury free. Overall, this is the Big Rivers Electric Corporation’s 40th Governor’s Safety and Health Award.