Home » Corporate Moves: Aug. 2018

Corporate Moves: Aug. 2018

New leadership for Kentucky businesses

By Lane Report staff


Brad Smith has been named as the next managing partner of MCM CPAs & Advisors. He will succeed current managing partner Diane Medley on July 1, 2019.


Barbara Lynne Jamison has been named general director of the Kentucky Opera.

Thomas J. Carto has been named president and chief executive officer of the Southern Kentucky Performing Arts Center (SKyPAC) in Bowling Green.


Arnie Akers and Jerry Pelphrey have been named regional presidents for First Southern National Bank. Akers will continue as community president in Garrard County and will also have leadership responsibilities in Lincoln, Garrard and Madison counties. Pelphrey will continue to serve as community president in Pulaski County, in addition to overseeing operations in Fayette, Jessamine and Wayne counties.

■ BB&T has named Craig J. Carlson as corporate banking manager for Northern Kentucky and Greater Cincinnati.


Karen Minton has joined Southeast Kentucky Economic Development Corp. (SKED) as the organization’s small-business loan specialist.


Christine Harper has been named associate provost for enrollment management at the University of Kentucky.

Larry Holloway has been named vice provost at the University of Kentucky.

Kathi Kern has been named associate provost for teaching, learning and innovation at the University of Kentucky.

Kristin Williams has been named chancellor of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System.

Whitney Peake has been named director of the Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Western Kentucky University. Peake succeeds Dawn Bolton, who is retiring.

Wendy Kobler has been named vice president of institutional advancement at Kentucky  State University.


Ron Beaton has joined Louisville-based personal and business financial advisory firm ARGI. Beaton will serve the company’s western Kentucky region.

Josh Nagel has been promoted to managing director of Merrill Lynch. Nagel is based in the Louisville office.


Kristin Martha-Britt Kulsveen has been named president and chief whiskey officer for Willett Distillery in Bardstown.

Kelli Nelson has been named vice president and chief accounting officer for Louisville-based Brown-Forman.


Kelly Hibbitts has been appointed east region division director of program operations for the Kentucky Department of Juvenile Justice.

Lesley Bilby has been named deputy secretary of the Kentucky Personnel Cabinet.

Eric Clark has been named commissioner of the Kentucky Department for Community Based Services in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services. Elizabeth Caywood has been named deputy commissioner within the department.

Tresa Straw has been named chief of staff for the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services.

Deanna Durrett has been named general counsel for the Kentucky Department of Education and the Kentucky Board of Education.


Daniel E. McKay has been appointed president and chief executive officer for Ephraim McDowell Health in Danville.

■ KVC Behavioral HealthCare Kentucky has announced the following appointments: Elizabeth Croney – executive vice president of clinical advancement for KVC Health Systems; Gina Klyachkin – president of KVC Behavioral HealthCare Kentucky Inc.; and Jarrod Dungan – vice president of KVC Behavioral HealthCare Kentucky Inc.  Lexington-based KVC Kentucky is a subsidiary of KVC Health Systems, a national nonprofit child welfare and behavioral health-care organization.

■ Dr. Brooke Phillips has been named medical director of the St. Elizabeth Healthcare Center for Precision Medicine and Genomic Health in Northern Kentucky.


Dan Tobergte has resigned as president and chief executive officer of the Northern Kentucky Tri-County Economic Development Corp. (Tri-ED) to pursue new opportunities.

Andrew Kipe is leaving his position as executive director of The Louisville Orchestra in August to accept an administrative role at Baltimore’s Peabody Institute.

Greg Nielsen is stepping down as chief executive officer of Louisville’s Center for Nonprofit Excellence to pursue new opportunities. Ann Coffey will serve as interim CEO.